Saturday, April 21, 2012

Team Exergy 1 & 2 W/ 4 in Top 10 - Stage 2 Sea Otter 2012

Sea Otter Classic - Stage 2 SRAM Road Race by Team Exergy


Elite Men
1Matt Cooke (Team Exergy)3:01:08
2Morgan Scmitt (Team Exergy)
3Andy Jacques-Maynes (Kenda/5-Hour Energy)0:00:06
4Stephen Leece (California Giant-Specialized)0:00:11
5Louis Meintjes (Simple Green/Bike Religion)0:00:40
6Taylor Bertrand-Barrett (Wonderful Pistachio's)0:00:55
7Noe Gianetti (Team Exergy)0:00:59
8Kirk Carlsen (
9Tyler Brandt (Team Mike's Bikes)0:01:08
10Logan Loader (Team Exergy)

Team Exergy’s West Coast Squad continued to apply pressure today at Sea Otter Classic, taking first and second place in the SRAM Road Race and placing four riders in the top ten overall.

An early break in today’s 70-mile race put four racers off the front. Team Exergy’s Logan Loader and another rider bridged the gap to join the break, ultimately gaining a lead of three-and-one-half minutes before being pulled back in during the last three laps of the eight-lap circuit.

Unfortunately for Andy Jacques-Maynes in yellow, 2 of his Kenda Pro teammates were caught up in a crash on the first lap. Having lost a rider in that crash, Kenda found itself short-handed defending the General Classification lead.

Kenda’s hard work on the final lap gave Team Exergy’s Matt Cooke the opportunity to drop them on the finish line and take the win. Morgan Schmitt, who started the day just seven seconds behind Jacques-Maynes, crossed the line in second place, six seconds ahead of the yellow jersey.

Morgan now finds himself in familiar territory, starting tomorrow’s eight-mile individual time trial just one second away from the yellow jersey. Matt Cooke sits in third place overall, 1 minute and 31 seconds behind Jacques-Maynes. Noe Gianetti, in seventh, and Logan Loader, in ninth, round out Team Exergy’s riders represented in the top 10.

Tomorrow’s time trial begins at 3:30 p.m. Follow the action on Twitter @teamexergy #seaotterclassic or watch live streaming of the race online at

No comments: