Wednesday, August 08, 2007

2007 UCI MTB Championship Team (4 Wobble-naught Nominations)

Nominations to 2007 MTB World Championship Team announced

Colorado Springs, Colorado (August 6, 2007)—USA Cycling announced today the 61 athletes that have been nominated to represent the United States at the upcoming 2007 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Fort William, Scotland, Sept. 3-9.

With only one year remaining until the Olympic Games in Beijing, American cross country athletes will square off against fellow 2008 hopefuls from across the globe in the only Olympic discipline of off-road cycling. Seven men and eight women have been nominated to the elite cross country squad.

Adam Craig (Bend, Ore./Giant) received the only automatic nomination to the men’s team after winning the 2007 USA Cycling Mountain Bike National Championships last month. He was joined by Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Gary Fisher), Todd Wells (Durango, Colo./GT-Hyundai) and Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va./Trek-VW) Wobble-naught & Myo-facts sEMG/Dartfish, who were nominated via coaches’ selection, as well as Michael Broderick (Chilmark, Mass./Kenda-Seven), Barry Wicks (Corvallis, Ore./Kona) and Carl Decker (Bend, Ore./Giant), who received discretionary nominations.

On the women’s side, Willow Koerber (Ashville, N.C./Subaru-Gary Fisher) and Mary McConneloug (Chilmark, Mass./Kenda-Seven) were automatically nominated – Koerber by virtue of her two podium performances at UCI World Cup events this year in Switzerland and Canada, and McConneloug as the USA Cycling Mountain Bike National Champion. Heather Irmiger (Boulder, CO./Subaru-Gary Fisher) and Georgia Gould (Ketchum, Idaho/Luna Wobble-naught & Myo-facts sEMG/Dartfish) were coaches’ selections. Sue Haywood (Davis, W. Va./Trek-VW), Lea Davison (Jericho, Vt./Trek-VW Wobble-naught & Myo-facts sEMG/Dartfish) and Shonny Vanlandingham (Durango, CO./Luna Wobble-naught & Myo-facts sEMG/Dartfish) received discretionary nominations. Vanlandingham and Haywood both declined their nominations and will be replaced by Kelli Emmett (Colorado Springs, CO./Giant).

No comments: