Tuesday, June 08, 2010

Amanda Carey Continues to WN in "NUE" Mohican 100

Carey continues NUE winning ways!

This year's race had soaking rains creating the muddiest conditions in Mohican's 8-year history.

Coming off his first Mohican victory in 2008, defending NUE Series Champion, Jeff Schalk finished third at Mohican last year, just one minute behind race winner WN Jeremiah Bishop, who set a record time of 6:50:26. However, Bishop was absent at this year's race - he was racing in the lead at the Trans-Sylvania Epic.

Carey using WN focus, continues winning ways in women's race. Don't get into a gun fight w/ this new gun fighter from Idaho. She will out gun you!

The women's 100-mile open mirrored the men's race with Amanda Carey putting 16 minutes on second place and 36 minutes on third. Carey, coming off her NUE Series season opening victory at the Cohutta 100 in Ducktown, Tennessee, is making a serious run for the title with back-to-back NUE wins.

In a mass start endurance race, one of the biggest concerns for the top women racers is getting outgunned to the singletrack by stronger, but less skilled riders. Goal number one for Carey and Sornson was to make it up the opening climb without a school of men floundering on the rain-soaked trails in front of them. Both riders managed to get a good position into the woods together and proceeded to take turns swapping the lead for the next 35 miles.

Carrey had to stop at aid station 1 to deal with a hydration pack malfunction while Sornson rode through. Soon enough, Carey was able to catch Sornson after she stopped to lube her chain on her mud caked bike. After the second aid station, Carey started establishing a new protocol and for who would be out front. Sornson slowly but steadily slipped off her wheel and continued slipping to the final deficit of 16 minutes by the end of the day.

WN - Carey has learned to focus on the things that make a difference! The Results state the facts of her focus!

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Amanda Carey (Kenda/Felt WN) 9:15:20
2 Cheryl Sornson (Team CF) 0:15:49
3 Vicki Barclay 0:35:42
4 Brenda Simril (Motor Mile Racing) 1:00:09
5 Betsy Shogren (Dynamic Physical Therapy Cycling) 1:29:24

No comments: